Indigenous Sport Decade Award Winners

January 22, 2021

The Manitoba Aboriginal Sports & Recreation Council (MASRC) Announces Winners of the Prestigious Indigenous Sport Decade Awards Each year the MASRC honours athletes, coaches, and volunteers who demonstrate great determination, leadership, and giving back to their community. However, this year our annual awards will be celebrating a decade of achievement! With the cancellation of most sports this year due to ongoing pandemic, this is an opportunity to celebrate a career award rather than one season award.

The award recipients were chosen by following a set of guidelines and were selected through the Award/Scholarship Selection Committee.

Looking back on the past decade really showed everyone how incredibly talented, strong and resilient Manitoba's Indigenous sport community has become.

Today we are honoured to announce the following Indigenous Sport Decade Award winners:

Manitoba Indigenous Female Athlete of the Decade - Jocelyne Larocque (Métis - Ste. Anne, MB)

Manitoba Indigenous Male Athlete of the Decade - Zach Whitecloud (First Nations - Sioux Valley Dakota Nation, MB)

Manitoba Indigenous Female Coach of the Decade - Jayme Menzies (Métis - Winnipeg, MB)

Manitoba Indigenous Male Coach of the Decade - Dale Bear (First Nations - Peguis First Nation, MB)

Manitoba Indigenous Female Volunteer of the Decade - Jacinta Bear (First Nations - Fisher River, MB)

Manitoba Indigenous Male Volunteer of the Decade - Faron Asham (Métis - Brandon, MB)

To see the full details of the nominations, please visit Indigenous Sport Decade Award Winners


View More

Unite Interactive